Measuring Up

My children are in possession of quacking tongues and have taken a solemn oath to preserve and protect the truth. Food has to pass their white-gloved inspection and steely-eyed scrutiny. This is their rating system:

NOD (no offense, dad): “No offense dad, but I’d rather eat packaged bagels from the damaged foods warehouse than the raisin pumpernickel rolls that you just took out of the oven.”

NC (no complaints): They like it enough not to complain, but it’s not your best loaf, either.

FA (family approval): Good, with the possibility of being really good, but we won’t tell you that because it would mean we agree with each other, and at times, actually like each other.

TIRG (this is really good) or its shorter cousin RGD (really good, dad): They like me, they really like me.

M (Magnificent): I can now meet my maker. M rating is generally reserved for baguettes,  French bread, or other breads made without whole-grain flour.

4 responses to “Measuring Up

  1. NOD 🙂 Looks good!

  2. I am looking forward to making the apple challah. I know the author and he is a different and great kind of cook. It sounds delicious.

  3. I’m very familiar with the NOD rating. I crave the TTBIEE (that’s the best…I’ve ever eaten) rating. They are very rare, but I don’t forget them.

  4. Rating = M I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

